Love Stabs

It was years since I saw Johanna, since I felt the butterflies in my stomach when her bright brown eyes met mine. That night she knocked on my door and made them come back.“Josh, I need your help.” Her voice trembled. I felt the air outside and it wasn’t cold. “Are you busy? Are you with someone?”

“No.” I hadn’t been with anyone for a long time and she knew it. “I’m alone.”

She stood silently under the door frame, shivering from head to toe. “I have to show you something.”

How could I resist a request from her? I walked beside her to the street where her car was parked. It was almost midnight, it was dark but I could see her profile clearly, it had the same effect as always: make my heart skip.

“Johanna.” She gave a fright jump with her hand already on the edge of her car’s trunk. “It didn’t go well the first time, but I have to tell you…”

“Josh, this isn’t the best time…”

“I’ve been in love with you forever. The moment I saw you walk into my office with that smile to introduce yourself as the new head of the Customer Service Department I fell for you.”

She popped the trunk open and I gasped.

“This isn’t the best time for that.”

“Who the hell is that?”

“A guy I met. He had a dispute with the company. I took the call, resolved it and we thought we hit it off.”

“But, what is he doing in your trunk?”

A groan came from inside. I took a step back in horror.

“I thought I killed him.”

“Get me out of here, Johanna.” The man pleaded.

I helped him out. He stumbled all the way into my house, keeping a hand holding the back of his head.

“How could you do this?” I sat the man on the sofa and turned abruptly to Johanna.

“One moment we are making out in a parking lot after some drinks and the other I’m inside her trunk.” He hissed in pain.

“He bit my lip. You know I hate that.”

“That’s your excuse for hitting a man and throwing him inside your trunk? How was he supposed to know?”

“I drove all the way from New York for this? Fuck my life.” The man grunted. “I’m Mike, by the way.”

“Josh, nice… well, you get it.” He dismissed me with a wave of his hand. His skin was turning pale.

Then I remembered why I hadn’t seen Johanna for so long, even when I loved her with every bit of my heart. I peered into her eyes and a rush of coldness overcame me.

“Don’t tell me you…”

“I did.” Her eyes welled up with tears. “I stabbed him. I couldn’t help it.”

The blood had stained the black shirt under his jacket but he hadn’t noticed until then.

“You fucking stabbed me?”

“I’m sorry.”

“Don’t just stand there, dammit. Take me to a fucking hospital! I can’t feel my legs, I can’t fucking feel my legs!” His screams of desperation pierced my ears. “And I didn’t even get to have sex with you, crazy bitch!”

“Don’t you insult her like that!”

“For fuck’s sake, don’t defend her, she’s nuts!”

“You see this?” I pulled my shirt up and showed him a three inch scar on my stomach. “I know what you are going through, pal. So shut up.”

“She’s a schizo!”

I ran into the kitchen, frantically searching through the drawers until I found my chef’s knife.

“No,” I towered over him lying horizontal on the sofa “I’m the schizo for loving her.” And I slashed away my anger on his skin.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

