About Book 2…

The second book in The Caregiver series is already in my editor’s capable hands and, well, it’s been something like a storm in my head. I believe you all realized it from my last post, so no use in dwelling on that.

It’s very satisfying to be working like crazy on something you love so much, and I have awesome friends rooting for me all the way. Even the kindness of strangers make me feel elated. So, excuse me if I don’t make much sense in this post.

However, what I really want is to make a quick post about stuff that have inspired me for book 2. I don’t want to spoil anything, what I do want is for everyone who has read Book 1 to know that you will get answers, and then some. I’ve wanted to give a view of the characters in this series as humans, not just blobs cussing and shooting and stabbing, but real people with genuine feelings. Because, even when you’re a contract killer or a drug lord, you want to be able to find solace in the comfort of the people you love.

I’m no feminist or anything like that, however, I believe this quote is necessary since it has worked on me:

Funny business, a woman’s career – the things you drop on your way up the ladder so you can move faster. You forget you’ll need them again when you get back to being a woman. That’s one career all females have in common, whether we like it or not: being a woman. Sooner or later, we’ve got to work at it, no matter how many other careers we’ve had or wanted. And in the last analysis, nothing’s any good unless you can look up just before dinner or turn around in bed, and there he is. Without that, you’re not a woman. You’re something with a French provincial office or a book full of clippings, but you’re not a woman. Slow curtain, the end.

-Bette Davis as Margo Channing in ‘All About Eve’

And now, I thought I’d share some of the song in my playlist for Book 2 and hope you start getting a vibe of what is coming:

Leave a Reply

